Questions and Answers page

Please use the search and category filters to find what you’re looking for.

Stakeholders may contact SDM with questions by clicking the Ask question button. The SDM Q&A page will be updated regularly with new questions and answers

You can also find a Glossary here…

Recent Comments



    Pursuant to Article 8 of the TEN-T Regulation (Regulation (EU) No 1315/2013), Article 9 of the CEF Regulation (Regulation (EU) No 1316/2013) and the eligibility criteria defined in the CEF multi-annual programme(Commission Implementing Decision No C(2014)1921), entities from third countries may participate in projects supporting projects of common interest and they could receive CEF Transport financial assistance provided that:

    they are neighbouring countries in the sense of Article 3 of the TEN-T Regulation and Article 2 of the CEF Regulation (Regulation (EU) No 1316/2013);

    projects aim to implement traffic management systems (in the specific case of SES- SESAR implementation);

    their participation is necessary and indispensable to the achievement of the objectives of a given project of common interest;

    applications receive the agreement of a Member State.


    Moreover, entities from third countries may participate in projects of common interest without receiving CEF financial assistance, where their participation is necessary and duly justified to achieve the objectives of a given project of common interest.


    Common Projects, as defined in Regulation (EU) 409/2013, are projects of common interest in the sense of the TEN-T Regulation. Entities from third countries included in the scope of Common Projects could be considered as being necessary and indispensable for the achievement of the objectives of a Common Project. The application from will require the compulsory signature of a Member State certifying that the participation of a third country is necessary  or necessary and indispensable.


    The Neighbourhood Policy covers ( Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Egypt, Georgia, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Moldova, Morocco, Palestine, Syria, Tunisia and Ukraine;

    The Enlargement policy covers ( Albania, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Turkey, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo;

    EEA and EFTA cover: Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Lichtenstein.



    ANSP Air Navigation Service Provider
    ATM Air Traffic Management
    AO Airport Operator
    AU Airspace User
    CA Cooperative Arrangement
    CEF Connecting Europe Facility
    CfP Call for Proposals
    DLS Data Link Services
    DP Deployment Programme
    EASCG European ATM Standards Coordination Group
    EASA European Aviation Safety Agency
    EC European Commission
    EDA European Defence Agency
    ESSIP European Single Sky Implementation
    EUROCAE European Organisation for Civil Aviation Equipment
    FUA Flexible Use of Airspace
    IDSG Interim Deployment Steering Group
    INEA Innovation and Networks Executive Agency
    LO Liaison Officer
    MD Managing Director of the SESAR Deployment Manager
    NM Network Manager
    NOP Network Operations Plan
    NSA National Safety Authority
    PDP Preliminary Deployment Programme
    PRB Performance Review Body
    SESAR Single European Sky ATM Research
    SB Supervisory Board of the SESAR Deployment Manager
    SCP Stakeholders’ Consultation Platform of the SESAR Deployment Manager
    SDM SESAR Deployment Manager
    SG Steering Group of the SCP
    TS Thematic Sub-Group (=”Expert Group”) of SCP